Thursday, 27 October 2011


My first post is dedicated to "the very best of" the sadly missed Hawaiian singer, dancer, actor and performer Dick "The Giant" Jensen.

I created this compilation, focused on a eleven years period (1966-1976), as an introduction to his music work. It features the following tracks:

01. Mr. Pitiful (2:25)
02. Groove With What You've Got (2:49)
03. Back In Circulation (2:02)
04. Cry On My Shoulder (2:54)
05. I'm Good For You (2:49)
06. Fat Mama (2:14)
07. Three Cheers To Love (3:27)
08. Jealous Feeling (3:00)
09. Peace of Mind (2:48)
10. I Have You (2:58)
11. Going Up On the Mountain (2:51)
12. Only Dreams (3:12)
13. I Don't Want To Cry (2:49)
14. New York City's a Lonely Town (3:07)
15. Hands (2:59)
16. Girl Don't Come (2:15)
17. Tamika (Come Back Later) (2:57)
18. Love Shack (2:57)
19. Papa Was a Music Man (2:58)
20. Paniola Country (3:18)
21. Shall We Gather By the Water (2:33)
22. Cloudy Morning (3:49)
23. Fragile (2:11)
24. Real Good Woman (2:46)
25. Bird You Must Fly (2:51)
26. Hard To Handle [Live] (3:01)
27. Home Again at Last [Live] (2:50)

All tracks were remastered from the original vinyls in September 2011 and are available in FLAC lossless format or high-quality 320 Kbps MP3 files, both formats include artwork in PDF format and further information. Please have a look at the comments for the download links.

During his life, Dick Jensen was a primemover of nightclub shows and released four albums, including one on Command/Probe Records and one on Philadelphia International Records, plus a few more singles.

During the 80s he was featured in a few episodes of the popular American television series "Magnum P.I.". Often compared to Tom Jones, he is also remembered as the one who invented a sort of "proto-Moonwalk" long before Michael Jackson made it fashionable, just have a look at the video below taken from the Ed Sullivan Show:

More information about Dick Jensen is available here:

I'm currently compiling a Dick Jensen biography, the first part of this work-in-progress covers the period 1942-1972 and is available here.

I'm also trying to compile a Dick Jensen exhaustive discography, my work-in-progress is available here.

Last but not least, I'm also trying to build a collection of Dick Jensen pictures and memorabilia, my work-in-progress is available here.

All my posts dedicated to Dick Jensen on this blog are available here.

I will post more Dick Jensen stuff in the next weeks, if you have any other useful information about him and his releases or if you spot any dead links, just get in touch with me at stereocandies [at] hotmail [dot] com or leave a comment in the box below, thank you!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...